//
you're reading...
Food, Lifestyle, Vegetarian Cooking for Carnivores

LOTSA LATKES by Bonnie Antonini

I asked actor Blair Leatherwood (blairleatherwood.com) to come on Vegetarian Cooking For Carnivores (Monday nights at 6:30 PST on tacdradio.com) to talk about a couple of traditional Hannukah foods. Blair explained that in order to honor the oil that burned for 8 days there is a lot of fried food such as latkes and even donuts. FRIED FOODS?! I’m so there! There’s something about frying that makes boring food delicious, and delicious foods amazing. Get yourself a good dipping sauce and you’ve really got something.

Because I have both a radio and video (VegetarianCookingForCarnivores.wordpress.com) cooking show – and because I don’t like to reinvent the wheel – I like to keep precise measurements of ingredients. Newbie cooks need the structure, and even seasoned cooks like to know what works. So when Blair was giving instructions for making latkes, I kept pushing for ‘how much’ of this, or can you use ‘that’. His reply was always, ‘whatever you want’. Alright. So I decided to throw aside my structured ways and just go for it when I made my first batch of latkes. I didn’t even use shredded potatoes! I used the leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes. What a rebel! Next thing you know I’m going to be hard boiling eggs without using a timer! My latkes were awesome. I had to force myself to stop eating them.

Well, here it is – my ‘recipe’ for Latkes. Remember – put the word ‘about’ in front of all ingredients.

POTATO LATKES
1 egg
1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes (or shredded)
2 T flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 T dried minced onions
1 tsp salt
canola oil (or whatever kind of oil you like)
optional: add anything you like into your latkes – shredded zucchini, cinnamon, cayenne pepper. Anything goes.)

Beat the egg in a bowl. Add in the potatoes, flour, baking powder, dried onions, and salt. Mix well. Roll into balls approximately 2″ in diameter, then pat into patties 1/4″ – 1/3″ thick. Fry in heated oil until boths sides are brown and crisp. Drain on paper towels. Top with anything you like: sour cream, apple sauce, yogurt dipping sauce (recipe follows).
_______________________________________________________________________________________
I came up with this recipe for yogurt dipping sauce to use on vegetarian dolmas (stuffed grape leaves). Since I was making latkes at the time, I wondered how the sauce would taste on the latkes. UNBELIEVEABLE!!! This yogurt sauce is a little like making latkes – not precise. So, again, put the word ‘about’ in front of all ingredients.

YOGURT DIPPING SAUCE
1 cup plain yogurt
1 T extra virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp dried dill
1/4 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. That’s it! Try making your own yogurt – you’ll not only save money, but you’ll get a healthier yogurt. Check out the ingredients list on the cartons of most yogurts. YUCK! I show you how to make yogurt in Episode 5 of Vegetarian Cooking For Carnivores. Go to VegetarianCookingForCarnivores.wordpress.com, click on ‘Episode Guide’, then click on Episode 5. TRY IT!!!

About vegetariancookingforcarnivores

I grew up in a typical meat & potatoes house. When I became a vegetarian, I put aside the delicious meat recipes I was using in favor of omelettes, rice & beans, and salads. Then I found the world of imitation products and began incorporating them into my old recipes. You're more likely to remain a vegetarian if you don't feel like you're sacrificing. With the right product in the right recipe, you can once again enjoy 'meat' recipes.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

