//
you're reading...
Food, Lifestyle, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking for Carnivores

THE DOLMA SHOW by Bonnie Antonini

My guest this week, Deborah Shahloub, and I have had a friendly argument over the years as to who makes the best dolma.  Dolmas, for those of you who may not know, are stuffed grape leaves.  They bear a slight resemblance to cigar butts, which is why my brother and I refused to eat them for years as children.  But once we finally took the plunge, they became a favorite.  In fact, the best present I can give my brother is a batch of dolmas.

Of course, the traditional dolma that both Deb and I learned from our grandmothers is made with lamb and beef.  But Deborah has adapted a vegetarian dolma recipe which she shared on Vegetarian Cooking For Carnivores.  This is one of those recipes where you can adapt it to suit yourself – if you want a little more of this, or a little less of that, go for it.

Deborah actually picks her own grape leaves – something I’ve never tried.  Make sure you wash them well, then blanch them to soften them a bit.  If you like, you can freeze them for future use.  But for those of you who, like me, want to buy them, you can find them in the grocery store – probably in the olive/pickle section, or if there’s a Mediterranean market in your area, they’ll carry them.  When Deb runs out of her fresh ones and has to buy them, she blanches them to wash away the brine in which the jarred ones are soaked.  I actually like the brine taste so I use them as is.

DEBORAH’S VEGETARIAN DOLMA

1 onion, chopped

2/3 cup brown rice, uncooked (Deb uses Brown Rice Medley from Trader Joe’s)

1 T olive oil

salt & pepper

1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted

1/2 cup currants

optional:  1/4 cup orange flavored cranberries (can be found at Trader Joe’s)

1 jar of grape leaves (buy 2 in case you need more)

Heat oil in a skillet and saute onions for about 5 minutes.  Add rice and stir.  Cover with water, add salt & pepper, and bring to boil.  Lower heat to simmer, cover, and cook until rice has absorbed all the water.  Keep an eye on this so you don’t burn it.  Some rices absorb faster than others.  Set your timer so you don’t forget.  REPEAT:  set your timer so you don’t forget!  Once the water is gone, stir in the pine nuts, currants, and cranberries (if using).

Now for the fun part – rolling the dolmas.  In the old days, women would gather and chat while rolling.  It’s really a mindless task but takes a while.  If you have no one to help, you can watch TV, listen to music, or chat on speakerphone.  The key to rolling dolmas is to NOT OVERSTUFF.  If you do, they will burst open when you boil them because the rice is not through expanding, and the currants will expand, too.

The first thing to do is to cut any stem left on the leaves right down to the nub.  Lay the leaf vein side up, leaf point away from you (base towards you).  Smoosh about 1/4 cup of the rice mix into a sausage shape.  The amount will depend on the size of the leaf.  Lay the roll widthwise where the stem met the leaf.  Roll up the leaf below the roll to cover it.  Fold in the leaf on either side of the roll.  Now just roll the bundle up to the tip of the leaf like you were rolling up a sleeping bag.  Don’t roll too tightly, or too loosely.  You want a little room for the ingredients to expand, but not so much room that the dolma will unroll.  As you’re done with each dolma, place it in a large pot.

Once all the dolmas are rolled, cover with water or vegetable stock just to the top of the dolmas, then place a few of the really large leaves you didn’t use (or a plate as they do in Deborah’s family)on top.  Bring to a boil, cover, and simmer for 1 hour.

Dolmas freeze really well, so if you like them, double the batch next time and freeze some for future meals.

About vegetariancookingforcarnivores

I grew up in a typical meat & potatoes house. When I became a vegetarian, I put aside the delicious meat recipes I was using in favor of omelettes, rice & beans, and salads. Then I found the world of imitation products and began incorporating them into my old recipes. You're more likely to remain a vegetarian if you don't feel like you're sacrificing. With the right product in the right recipe, you can once again enjoy 'meat' recipes.

Discussion

35 thoughts on “THE DOLMA SHOW by Bonnie Antonini

  1. This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Thank you!

    Where are your contact details though?

    Posted by ajax google apis | March 25, 2014, 11:38 pm
  2. Hi there to every body, it’s my first go to see of this web site; this website contains awesome and in fact fine information in support of visitors.

    Posted by mobile games | April 14, 2014, 12:00 pm
  3. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
    sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for novice blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Posted by Junk Removal company | April 18, 2014, 4:18 am
  4. Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a stuff! existing
    herde at this blog, thanks admin oof this web site.

    Posted by hacks für subway surfers | April 20, 2014, 7:30 pm
  5. You made some really good points there. I checked on the internet for more information about the
    issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this
    site.

    Posted by cool summer jobs for college students | April 21, 2014, 2:44 pm
  6. Remarkable issues here. I am very satisfied to peer your post.

    Thank you a lot and I am taking a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

    Posted by download for no good reason | April 23, 2014, 5:47 am
  7. However, as they have continued to advance, people are relying on these tiny
    pieces of technology to do more and more. Computers are
    located in different buildings, it takes time to round
    them all. Accuracy of the recorder: The recorder should
    be able to accurately replay the tasks keeping in consideration the
    changes in location of files and desktop area changes.

    Posted by Berenice | April 27, 2014, 8:50 am
  8. Itཿs really a cool and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Posted by plano debt relief | April 29, 2014, 3:38 am
  9. These exercises create powerful muscle toning synergy
    when combined with proper form, tempo and sequence.

    Posted by truth about stretch marks | May 8, 2014, 9:24 am
  10. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from
    an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or
    suggestions? Many thanks

    Posted by Generateur | May 23, 2014, 6:32 am
  11. Your relationship is too important to let slip away.

    Act with confidence and maintain a laid-back attitude.

    Posted by the magic of making up | May 24, 2014, 12:01 pm
  12. Я думаю, что Вы не правы. Я уверен.
    Могу это доказать. Пишите мне в PM, пообщаемся.

    Posted by куда вложить деньги | May 26, 2014, 5:12 am
  13. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand
    your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent.
    I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are
    stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to
    keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a great website.

    Posted by house sitting jobs | May 27, 2014, 5:23 am
  14. Not a tough call…).

    Posted by http://bonusbagging1.tumblr.com | May 27, 2014, 11:00 pm
  15. She was right – it all worked itself out by the middle of the third month.
    So, take it slow and you should be just fine.

    Posted by special k diet | May 28, 2014, 12:40 am
  16. Ahaa, its nice conversation about this post here at this blog, I have
    read all that, so now me also commenting here.

    Posted by Tasha | May 28, 2014, 12:02 pm
  17. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the
    advice!

    Posted by clumsy ninja cheat | May 29, 2014, 3:37 am
  18. Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.

    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks
    weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Appreciate it!

    Posted by http://yugioh-mv.de/profile.php?userid=25895 | May 30, 2014, 8:35 pm
  19. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Posted by centerblog.net | June 8, 2014, 7:54 pm
  20. Hello, this weekend is nice for me, because this moment i am reading this great informative piece of writing here at my home.

    Posted by the boost your bust book | June 8, 2014, 10:13 pm
  21. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the net.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this site!

    Posted by Old School New Body system | June 9, 2014, 6:33 pm
  22. May I simply just say what a relief to discover an individual who actually
    understands what they are talking about on the web. You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and
    make it important. More people should check this out
    and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you’re
    not more popular given that you surely have the gift.

    Posted by Maxwell | June 12, 2014, 7:08 am
  23. This is because these are the two options the
    eye industry sells and want that you believe that these will be the only
    solutions that truly work.

    Posted by Virgie | June 13, 2014, 1:42 am
  24. Reverse Phone Check is our top opt for that has a
    99.7Per cent success rate. Reverse Phone Check was able
    to circulate much more in our considerable testing
    than some other reverse phone search service. Reverse Phone Check given us
    because of the information and facts we wished for, for almost every form of range they professed.

    Posted by Madonna | June 14, 2014, 6:39 am
  25. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be
    interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow
    over time.

    Posted by clash of clans hack tool download free | June 15, 2014, 7:01 am
  26. Most some time when someone’s laptop stops working or
    becomes unusable due to viruses and other software problems they are going
    to simply dump it and get a whole new one. fotocopiatrici che svolgono
    molteplici lavori contemporaneamente. These coverages include defects due to natural disasters, defects a result of accident, defects due to
    third party viruses as well as defects brought on by the manufacturer.

    Posted by computer repairs glasgow | June 18, 2014, 12:54 am
  27. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site a
    lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances
    times will very frequently affect your placement in google and
    could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Posted by venus factor program for women | June 18, 2014, 5:26 am
  28. Hi, this weekend is nice designed for me, because this moment
    i am reading this fantastic informative article here at my residence.

    Posted by Bernie | June 22, 2014, 3:12 am
  29. Aside from the protein, eggs also have a healthy reserve of Omega three fatty acids, which is great for the heart and
    boosts energy levels.

    Posted by Visual Impact Muscle Building Results | June 24, 2014, 7:58 pm
  30. Pretty much all options that proclaimed to
    help distributor street address the herpes matter
    brought about indicators like head pain, putting together up, queasiness as
    well as some others. The Final Herpes Process will not give
    improper promises along with its success was displayed several times.
    Utilizing some of the provided techniques will help you do away with this
    infection fully, boosting your wellness and causing you to feel considerably significantly
    better.

    Posted by The Ultimate Herpes Protocol | July 9, 2014, 1:46 pm
  31. Remember that you are Beautiful. Keep your brows neat but don’t
    over tweeze.

    Posted by skin whitening forever ingredients | August 7, 2014, 5:27 am
  32. At best he can perform translation of document around 7000 words per day both general topics and technical topics.

    Posted by www.rebelmouse.com | August 9, 2014, 8:33 pm
  33. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I’ll forward this information to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Posted by try this website | August 15, 2014, 1:19 pm
  34. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a
    visit this webpage on regular basis to obtain updated from latest gossip.

    Posted by web builder reviews | August 21, 2014, 1:51 pm
  35. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Posted by affiliate marketing | August 23, 2014, 11:05 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

