//
you're reading...
Food, Lifestyle, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking for Carnivores

Less Guilt Chocolate Candy

Chocolate is one of those words that instantly grabs our attention, often eliciting a little swoon from our mouths.  I’ve even heard that magazines sell more copies when a photo of some sinful chocolate dessert graces the cover.  And, yes, I admit it – I’m a chocoholic like my mama before me.  However, I’m noticing that I have to down size the desserts as I’ve gotten older or else the pounds start creeping on.  Now let’s not get crazy – I’m not banishing them, just having smaller portions.

My guest on this week’s show was actress Katie Rubin (www.katierubin.com) who came on with a chocolate candy recipe that’s lower in calories, and maybe even better for you.  She also claimed the recipe is fast and easy – my two favorite cooking adverbs – and she was right.  ‘Chocolate’, ‘candy’, ‘fast’, ‘easy’….I went out the next day, bought the ingredients and made the candy, experimenting a bit.

The basic candy is all of three ingredients with add-in options:

–  6 T Wondercocoa  (you can get it at Whole Foods or online)

–  6 T coconut oil, melted

–  6 drops liquid Stevia

–  options:  sea salt, cayenne pepper, nuts, anything else that suits your fancy

Mix everything together and pour into an ice cube tray about 1/4 inch thick.  You’ll probably get about 18 candies.  Freeze.  That’s it!

About vegetariancookingforcarnivores

I grew up in a typical meat & potatoes house. When I became a vegetarian, I put aside the delicious meat recipes I was using in favor of omelettes, rice & beans, and salads. Then I found the world of imitation products and began incorporating them into my old recipes. You're more likely to remain a vegetarian if you don't feel like you're sacrificing. With the right product in the right recipe, you can once again enjoy 'meat' recipes.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

