//
you're reading...
The Hollywood Tramp

Angelina Jolie

She is beautiful, rich, has a famous boyfriend and dad, she has kids she adores, and she can act. I’m talking about Angelina Jolie. I am not a huge fan of hers, but I do enjoy watching her in a good movie. I read where Angelina has taken drastic measures to prevent getting cancer. I have to admire her for that. She thinks more of living a full life than her physical beauty. She has a lot to live for.

Angelina recently underwent a double mastectomy. Yes, she had both breasts removed. Why? Did she have breast cancer? No, but if she didn’t have this procedure done, her chances of getting breast cancer was approximately 87%. Her own mother died at age 56 of ovarian cancer. All women know that if the breast cancer gene runs on the female side of your family, your chances of having it are higher than those that don’t have the gene.

Angelina decided to take the preventative measures. She describes her 3 month medical procedures which involved the removal of her breast tissue and reconstructed with implants. Angelina stated, “You wake up with drain tubes and expander’s in your breast. Days after surgery, you can go back to a normal life.” Angelina credits her long time partner, Brad Pitt, for his loving support through her ordeal. Brad was at the Pink Lotus Breast Center where she was treated. He was there during every minute of her surgeries. They both decided this was the best option for her and their family. This has brought them closer together.

Will this affect her role as a sex-symbol? Angelina states, “I do not feel any less a woman. I feel empowered that I made a strong choice that in no way diminished my femininity.” Angelina hopes to inspire other women, who don’t know if they have the beast cancer gene, to have genetic testing done. All it takes is a simple blood test. The only drawback is that this test costs $3000 in the US. Then you have the cost of the preventative surgery and the breast implants. There is no federal law that requires insurance companies to cover this procedure. So, right now, if you’re rich, you can have this done. I feel sorry for the women who can’t have this done. What do they do?  Wait for the actual breast cancer lump to appear? But hey, good for Angelina.

Angelina’s’ next preventive measure is to have her ovaries removed. She is at 50% risk of having ovarian cancer. The breast cancer gene mutation not only dramatically increases the risk of breast cancer, but also causes a high probability of a woman developing ovarian cancer.

I hope these medical procedures work for her. Anyone who has lost a loved one to cancer knows it’s a horrible death. I watched my dad die of lung cancer, he was only 54. My family has been fortunate to not have the breast cancer gene, but that doesn’t mean we can’t get it. I found a lump in my breast a year ago. I went in for my mammogram and luckily there was nothing there. But, as I sat in the examination room waiting for my results, I was so scared. You’re thinking, “What if…” I pray for these women every night who are not as fortunate as I was. I hope women will check in with their insurance company and see what they cover in regards to having procedures done. It would well be worth it. Good luck to you women.

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

