//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Hollywood’s Unconventional Darling

Jennifer Lawrence OscarsI have to admit that I’m a fantasy reader.  Not just the typical fantasy that one might expect of some grown men, but of fantasy novels targeted at adolescents.  I love books like Harry Potter; however I draw the line at Twilight.  A series I stumbled upon a while ago was the Hunger Games.  I heard about them through the grapevine when they were growing in popularity and I knocked the entire series out pretty quickly.  Of course, as a serious film buff, I was thrilled to see that the books were being made into films.  I really enjoyed the first film and I’m eagerly awaiting the next.  The biggest surprise I received from the film was what I read after I saw it, an interview with Jennifer Lawrence made me really like the young actress.  A second interview made her one of my favorite new actresses in Hollywood, and the sentiment is catching fire.

Okay, I apologize for the pun, but how could I resist?  The first interview I read (which I unfortunately can’t link to this article because I have no idea where I read it) described her as a very normal young girl from Kentucky.  I remember thinking that she was the kind of girl I would probably have been friends with a decade ago.  She sounded like she enjoyed life, but was still very grounded.  Fame and riches hadn’t pushed her to be someone she wasn’t.  However, I wondered if that would change over time.

My fears were put at ease when I read an article in the January 9th issue of Entertainment Weekly previewing the second Hunger Games film, Catching Fire.  The writer, Karen Valby, described an interview with Jennifer that sounded like any number of conversations I’ve had with my best female friends over the years.  The grounded and fun-loving young woman seems to have survived her introduction to Hollywood.  Just a sample of my favorite moments in the article:

[Lawrence] Our first conversation was on the phone. I was in the bathtub, and I had to tell him that I was in the bathtub because I was afraid he would think I was, like, playing in the toilet when he heard water swishing around. [Laughs]

[Valby] Naturally, that’s where his head would go…

[Lawrence] I know, I can turn anything inappropriate. Anything. Okay, let’s start again…

Then we had breakfast in Santa Monica, and I spit egg inside of his mouth when I was talking. Like, it went in. Into his mouth. [Laughs]

[Valby] You literally cannot help yourself.
[Lawrence] I know, I know. I did this to The New York Times. My publicist called me and was like, ”This is The New York Times, be serious.” And then I found myself talking about orgies in three seconds.

[Lawrence] No matter what people say to me, like, ”Hey, you’re in this movie, lose 10 pounds.” I say, ”How about I lose three?” And it’s going to be a lot of hard work and I’ll gain it back in two weeks.

[Lawrence] I had a party for everybody in Atlanta. When Sam, who was obviously the new one, walked in I was chasing Woody and we’d flipped over my couch and Woody had a sock all the way down my throat

[Lawrence] As soon as somebody farts around me, I think it’s hilarious. [She lifts up her leg from the banquette and pretends to fart, then laughs.] This is something my brothers did that now the boys at work are obsessed with. You cup it and then you throw it in someone’s face and say, ”Take a bite out of that cheeseburger!”

If those quotes aren’t enough to give you an idea of what I mean, I’m not sure what will.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  After winning an Oscar, Jennifer was captured in an epic photobomb of Sarah Jessica Parker at the Metropolitan Museum’s Costume Institute Gala. (Retrieved from ThinkProgress)

Jennifer-Lawrence-Photobomb

If image is not moving, click on the picture to open a new window and animate.

It’s very easy to see why Jennifer Lawrence is winning the hearts of film lovers from every walk of life.  While I’m sure she would argue the point or disagree, I think she is a star that we could actually hold up as a role model for young people who are thrust into the limelight.  In fact, I wouldn’t mind having that discussion with her in case she wants to show her unconventional nature and give an interview to an unknown writer at a small magazine (hint, hint).  In the meantime, I will continue to admire Jennifer from afar and marvel at the Hollywood darling who is entrenching herself in the hearts of fans with her amusing and loveable antics.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

