//
you're reading...
The Hollywood Tramp

Extravagant Celebrity Weddings

June is almost upon us and when you think of June, most women think of the June wedding. Most weddings are planned for June. When I was married 40 years ago, my wedding probably cost less than $300.00. My 3-tier wedding cake cost $50.00 and was made in our local bakery. My mom made my short length dress, the flowers for me and the wedding party, and it cost $25.00. When my daughter was married almost 3 years ago she and her boyfriend paid for the beautiful church wedding for $3,000. Our family helped her cook and serve a full turkey dinner for the reception it was such a beautiful day.

Today I read that a wedding cost anywhere from $10,000, to hundreds of thousands of dollars. That’s all fine and dandy, but today, with the rise in the rate of divorce, I’d be a little leery.

I was reading up on some of the celebrity weddings and all I can say is, wow!  A million dollars for a wedding? It makes my head swim. And how many of these marriages last? Here a list of some celebrity weddings that I read up on. Let’s see how many of them are still married.

Tom Cruise/Katie Holmes
This couple was married in Lake Braccicino, Italy, in the 15th century Odescalchi Castle. The wedding party was dressed in Armani. 150 guests attended the wedding, some of the notable guests included: Will Smith, his wife Jada Pinkett Smith, Jennifer Lopez, and her husband, Marc Anthony. They are now divorced.

Josh Duhamel/ Fergie

Another million dollar wedding, some of the guests included Kid Rock, Wil.I.Am, and Slash. They are still married.

Prince William/Princess Catherine

A very Royal Wedding (pun intended). They arrived at the church in a horse-drawn carriage with over 1,900 people in attendance. Some of the guest included Elton John and Guy Ritchie. They are still married.

Katy Perry/Russell Brand

They had a traditional Indian wedding complete with safaris and performances by Indian musicians and dancers. This marriage lasted 14 months.

Brad Pitt/Jennifer Aniston

A million dollar fairy-tale wedding, some of the decorations included candles, lanterns, and 50,000 flowers. They had a 40-piece gospel choir sing as she walked down the aisle. There was even a 13 minute firework show after the ceremony. They are now divorced.

Kim Kardashian/Kris Humphries

Over 450 guests attended this farce. Kim had not one, but 3 different dresses. One dress she wore during the wedding was a white, strapless princess style dress, with a diamond headpiece. Later, during the reception, she wore two different dresses. Celebrity chef, Wolfgang Puck, fed the guests. This marriage lasted 72 days. What a waste!

When I think of that last wedding, I cringe. Do you think she realizes what she could have done with the million dollars had she not blown it on this farce of a wedding? I can see wanting a big wedding for your first marriage, but why do some people think they have to have a big fancy wedding EVERY TIME they get married? Some do, I bet the guests get tired of buying gifts for every wedding.

I really think you can have an elegant wedding without going overboard; you can buy a beautiful dress without breaking the bank. Some girls don’t care about the cost, I feel sorry for their parents. I’m proud my daughter did her own wedding; she worked on it for a year, buying things here and there every week. I think that is the best way to do it. For those of the readers getting married, good luck. I pray you find a world of happiness. Oh, there will be bumps along the road, but stop and try to work it out. This all coming from a woman who has been married 40 years.

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

One thought on “Extravagant Celebrity Weddings

  1. I completely agree! It doesn’t have to cost a fortune and be in the poshest of venues to create a beautiful, memorable day. I’ve noticed that a lot of people over her in the UK are being more creative with things and doing lots more themselves. My Sister got married in a local village hall. It wasn’t the fanciest of venues to start with but it looked amazing after a lot of family and friends had put a lot of hard work into it! I think the venue cost £60 per day!
    James.

    Wedding Entertainment

    Posted by James Rawson | September 11, 2013, 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

