//
you're reading...
The Hollywood Tramp

Good Bye Jay Leno……

I cannot believe that NBC is going to let Jay Leno go. Wow, he has been with “The Tonight Show” since 1992. Before cable came along, I always watched The Tonight Show, starting with Johnny Carson. I hated that Johnny left but I fell in love with Jay Leno, he was so funny. I loved his nightly monologues and I remember when he had a head of dark hair. It is such a shame that we have to get older.

That is the reason NBC says they are letting Jay go. Well, not that he’s getting older, but that they want to get a younger viewing crowd to watch the show. Personally, I don’t think that will matter. Everyone loves Jay; he is just so at home doing the show. They want to bring in Jimmy Fallon. I do not know who Jimmy Fallon is. I know he was on SNL and he has his own late night show now. How is his show doing? Are the numbers up for the ratings? Does he have a younger crowd watching his show at that late night-time slot? Why break something that isn’t broke? The Tonight Show has remained in the top 5 for years, they still beat David Letterman! They moved Jay around once and it didn’t work. What makes them think this will work? I think NBC is making another stupid move, but I could be wrong. I did some research on Jay Leno and here are some facts I thought I would share with you.

Jay Leno was born April 28, 1950 in New Rochelle N.Y. As a young boy he fell down some stairs, which resulted in his spleen being ripped and it had to be removed. He is a die-hard fan of Elvis Presley and Johnny Cash. He was a writer for the 1970’s sitcom “Good Times”. He has been married to Mavis Nicholson since 1980, but they have no children. Jay doesn’t drink coffee, soups, or anything hot.

His hobby is collecting cars, which he has 30, and motorcycles, which he has over 40. His first car was a 1934 Ford V-8 truck which he restored himself at the age of 14. Two of his motorcycles were featured in the movie, “Batman and Robin”. Jay claims he had his first auto accident 81 hours after he had gotten his driver’s license. He was a driver of the Pace Car at the 83rd Indianapolis 500, on May 30, 1999.

Jay really hit it big when he took over for Johnny Carson on the Tonight Show. He and David Letterman were both up for the job and Jay got it. It was well publicized. In 1995, Jay won an Emmy beating out David Letterman, but many times Letterman won in the ratings. Billy Crystal was Jay’s first guest on the Tonight Show on May 25, 1992. In 1992, Johnny Carson was a guest on the David Letterman show; however he never appeared on the Tonight Show with Jay. Many thought that was Johnny’s way of showing his displeasure of Jay getting the job and not David, even Jay thought this was true.

Jay had brought one of his motorcycles on the Tonight Show, asking celebrity guest to sign the bike, Arnold Schwarzenegger was the first to sign. This bike was later auctioned off and all the proceeds went to help the victims of 9/11.

Jay also started a tradition for his Thanksgiving Day shows. Each year for Thanksgiving, the entire audience is filled with men and women from the Armed Forces. He is the only late-night host to tape a new show on Thanksgiving Day.

President Obama did the first TV appearance of a sitting president on The Tonight Show.

I read these things and I wonder, “Why do they want to get a new host in there I’m sure people of all ages enjoy Jay Leno. I don’t think they need to get a younger person in there, I think The Tonight Show is just fine with Jay Leno. I personally hope Jay gets a better show, on another network, and blows NBC out of the water. Who would have the last laugh then?”

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Good Bye Jay Leno……

  1. I see a lot of interesting content on your website.

    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work,
    there is a tool that creates unique, google friendly posts in couple of minutes, just
    search in google – k2 unlimited content

    Posted by Judson | July 28, 2014, 3:40 am
  2. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there
    is an online tool that creates unique, google friendly articles in minutes,
    just type in google – laranitas free content source

    Posted by Tracy | August 28, 2014, 11:20 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

