//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Celebrity Memoirs

There are a lot of new celebrity memoirs coming out. I love to read autobiographies, especially of great actors from the black and white era. I have read John Wayne’s, Mickey Rooney’s, Ava Gardner, JFK’s,to name a few. Here are a few of the celebrities that have memoirs coming out, and a short synopsis that may help you decide if you want to buy them.

Arnold Schwarzenegger, Total Recall: My Unbelievably True Life Story

Some of the things he revealed included his affair with his housekeeper, who gave birth to their son, WHILE still working for them. He also admitted to multiple affairs he had kept from his wife Maria Shriver. In addition he did not tell Maria of his intent to run for governor of California in 2003, which he did run and won that election.

Florence Henderson, Life Is Not a Stage: From Broadway Baby to a Lovely Lady and Beyond

Florence revealed that she had a one night stand with former mayor of NYC, John Lindsay, who gave her a case of the “crabs.”

Mackenzie Phillips, High on Arrival

In Mackenzie’s biography she admits to having an incestuous affair with her dad, John Phillips of the famed Mama’s and Papa’s. She also stated he wanted to go to a country where they could marry as man and wife and that they use to get high together.

Mimi Beardsley Alford, Once Upon a Secret

Mimi disclosed that at 19 she worked as an intern for JFK where after her third day of working for him, they had an affair that lasted for 18 months.

Hope Solo, Solo, A Memoir of Hope

Hope Solo, an Olympic gold medalist, reveals that her mother conceived her while visiting Hope’s dad in jail on a conjugal visit.

Mike Piazza, Long Shot

Mike Piazza, retired MLB catcher for the NY Mets, had a grudge against Roger Clemens who hit Mike in the head with a fast ball. Mike was so enraged that he went and took karate lessons, he was planning on messing Roger up. After much study, he realized that Roger, “… was a big guy, and I stood a pretty fair chance of getting my ass kicked in front of Yankee Stadium and the world.”

R.A. Dicky, Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball

R.A. Dicky, a NY Mets pitcher, admitted to being sexually abused as a child. He thought of suicide because he felt such shame and anger because of what happened to him, he got through this with therapy.

If I were to write an autobiography I would really watch what I had to say. There are some things that are better left unsaid. Yes, celebrities all feel the need to write about their drug and alcohol problems, wild parties, multiple sex partners, and different kids. I think some of them could honestly help people who are going through the same things. Their experiences prove that you can get through serious problems, and some sound like they are actually bragging about their lifestyles.

I love to read about different lifestyles knowing I could never have that type of life. But would I really want it? I am happy in my little world with my husband, kids, and grand-kids. Yes, more money would be great, but we’re not lacking for anything major.

Go buy a book on your favorite celebrity, you may be surprised by their lifestyle, but then again, you may not.

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

