//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Movie Corner

Evil Dead (2013)

    It’s been a long time since I’ve gone to a horror movie and truly saw the “horror” they claim to have. The Evil Dead, though, really had me questioning if I was just scared or terrified. I could not keep my eyes off the screen wanting to know what they were going to shock me with next. Fede Alvarez directs Jane Levy, (Mia), and the rest of the cast, (most notably for this film Lou Taylor Pucci, (Eric)), amazingly. Evil Dead, for those of you who don’t know, is about five friends who head to a cabin in the woods, where the discovery of a book of the dead leads them into a fight for their lives against a demon with horrible capabilities.

The cast is incredible and for me it was the first time I’ve seen any of them in a movie. But for Levy she has by far the most convincingly horrified and distraught part I’ve seen in any horror film and she really makes you believe it. Then she can go completely opposite and show you the most possessed psychotic evil being you’ve ever seen. I’m definitely going to be looking for more movies with her in it. Eric however has got to be the most “Rambo-like” character who can take it all and keep going, that I’ve seen outside action movies. I mean he took probably one of the worst beatings I’ve seen in movies, ever. Did it stop him? Not one bit.

A very special thanks to Sam Raimi for returning to help write the screenplay and also the Special Effects department for their AMAZING work. Every cut, tear, and break I saw- I felt, I cringed. I even gagged on a few too. Also there’s a few one liners that you can’t help but bust out laughing, so listen closely. This is not the average “I can take my kids to see this “horror” movie.” This truly is a HORROR movie. An overall thrillingly spectacular movie. Easily, easily, a movie well worth seeing over and over. Just make sure you’ve A: Got a good stomach, and B: Love gore. (Or you could bring your easily terrified friend and have a hilarious time)

My rating: 9/10. I will be seeing it again while it’s in theaters. STAY AFTER THE CREDITS!!!

About Gobbstoppers

Love watching movies- I'm doing something I can't seem to find anywhere, an honest movie reviews. If there's any particular movies you'd like to hear about you can e-mail me at my posted e-mail.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

