//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Something Different

I am doing something different this week. Instead of writing on celebrities, well, Hollywood celebrities, I am going to write about an experience I had this past week. I am not a big religious person. I do believe in God. I pray every night, but I don’t go to church like I should. Okay, enough said here. Now for my story….

I have been a big Gaither Gospel fan for probably 5 years. I started watching the Gaither Homecoming Shows on television. In February, my daughter bought 3 tickets for my birthday to go see the

I am doing something different this week. Instead of writing on celebrities, well, Hollywood celebrities, I am going to write about an experience I had this past week. I am not a big religious person. I do believe in God. I pray every night, but I don’t go to church like I should. Okay, enough said here. Now for my story….

I have been a big Gaither Gospel fan for probably 5 years. I started watching the Gaither Homecoming Shows on television. In February, my daughter bought 3 tickets for my birthday to go see the Gaither Vocal Band. My daughter and 14 year old granddaughter Madelyn went with me. It was the best gift anyone has ever given me. I was so excited. On March 14th, we got to the Drury Riley Event Center around 5 p.m. The doors opened at 6 p.m. We went in, went to the bathroom, and then got us a snack. My granddaughter went ahead and found our seats. Row C, seats, 3, 4, and 5. We were so close to the stage. My heart was racing with excitement.

Soon, Kevin Williams the guitarist came out to warm the crowd up. Oh, we were all so pumped up anyways. After a couple of songs Kevin played, the lights went out, the Vocal Band came on stage in the dark, then the lights came on to much whistling clapping, yelling out for the band, then the music began. Song after wonderful song, I have never been as up-lifted as I was that night. I think I could have just floated on air. A wonderful night of singing, singing a-long, comedy and laughter, I love how they can make jokes. It doesn’t all have to be singing. Mark Lowry is the comedian of the group. Healing after a fall which he broke his leg in; he tried to run the guys over in his motorized wheel chair. My granddaughter fell in love with Mark. I wish she could have met him.

Bill Gaither looks great for his age and can still sing. Then you have Michael English, David Phelps, and Wes Hampton. Their guest singer for the night was Gene McDonald. Man, can he sing bass. There was never a boring moment. Madelyn took over 200 pictures at the concert. She loved every minute of it too; it’s nice to see a teenager find the love in their music.

I did not want the evening to end. But, all good things come to an end. I do have a suggestion for the Vocal Group. When people come to see your concerts, we are all out there buying your merchandise, so I think it would be nice to come on out and mingle with the crowds, take pictures and sign autographs. I know you do at some concerts, but we were not that fortunate. But……I did get one….

As we were leaving the center, going up the steps, my daughter said, “Mom they’re (the group) standing over there if you want their autographs”. I peeked over the railing, and there was a small group over there and I saw “HIM”, David Phelps. My favorite of the group….I leaned over and said,”Pssssst…Psssssst…Daaaaaaavid…Daaaaavid.” He looked over and waved and I waved my picture of the group I had bought. He came over and I said,”Would you please sign this? He did and signed a second one for me (which I gave to my daughter). I thanked him, and he said, “You are a blessing”…No, I was blessed to get to share in something I had only dreamed about. I thank my daughter for giving me this opportunity of my life time. I thank my beautiful granddaughter for sharing in it with us. I just want to say, if you get a chance to see this wonderful group and share in the experience, do it. You will not be sorry. Good, clean fun. I told my daughter and granddaughter as we were going home, “If I die in my sleep tonight, I die a very happy woman.”

I hope I don’t offend anyone with this story, but there are other groups to go see than your average rock and rollers.

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

One thought on “Something Different

  1. Kandy, if your heartwarming story offends anyone, they should seriously consider seeking professional help for their miserableness

    Posted by Patrick's Rants | March 19, 2013, 4:46 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

