//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Thrift Shopping

By now Macklemore, a white rap artist has taken the charts and hearts of many high school students. One of his most popular songs is called “Thrift Shop.” As over played and outdated as it is… It was one of my biggest inspirations for a little thrift shopping of my own this weekend.

Many of you don’t know that I am kind of a vintage junkie. I love walking through antique stores and looking at thrift shops because you do see some really interesting things.

This weekend I was on the hunt for the perfect Polaroid camera. While I was wondering through the Salvation Army I was disappointed at their small selection of crappy Walmart cameras and I decided it was time for me to move on. While being dragged out of the shop by amazing boyfriend I managed to wiggle free when I saw a large bookcase that seemed to draw my attention. After looking at the hundreds of books I was finally allowing myself to be removed from the shop. But wait! What is that I see out of the corner of my eye? Behind the glass counter top I spotted a box that read “$58.00 for all cameras.”

When the cashier removed the box for me I found not only the PERFECT Polaroid but also eight other very old cameras that date back to way before I was even born. Being the vintage junkie I am I was dancing with excitement in the middle of the store. Embarrassing anybody around me but when you find something like that in a random thrift shop in the center of town… You have to be a little excited.

Now you are all probably wondering, “What the hell does this have to do with me?” Probably bored out of your minds and staring at the screen like straight zombies I will tell you this: Don’t be afraid of thrift shopping. A lot of people believe that thrift shopping can be tagged to the words gross, old, and useless junk. In reality you can find some really cool stuff that maybe someone else just didn’t have room for. For all you Macklemore fans, “One man’s trash, that’s another man’s come-up.” In my case, another person that all those vintage cameras were crap, to me that cardboard box was like finding a chest of gold. Every camera with their own untold secrets.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Thrift Shopping

  1. Hello, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s really excellent, keep up writing.

    Posted by Maik | June 5, 2014, 11:17 am
  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times
    it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance”
    between usability and visual appearance. I must say you
    have done a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads
    extremely quick for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

    Posted by Offers for tricycle for kids | June 8, 2014, 10:32 pm
  3. Hi all, here every one is sharing such knowledge, thus it’s nice to read this webpage, and I used to visit this weblog everyday.

    Posted by drug test urine | June 12, 2014, 2:53 pm
  4. We stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to
    looking over your web page repeatedly.

    Posted by Patricia | July 24, 2014, 9:02 am
  5. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?

    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and
    my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Thank you!

    Posted by schwinn kids tricycle | August 23, 2014, 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

