//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Are Soap Operas Going Extinct?​​​​​

I grew up in the 60’s, watching soaps with my mother. . When my grandmother came to live with us in the late 60’s, her favorite soap was, “As the World Turns”. My mom eventually quit watching soaps so I would sit with my beloved grandmother and watch our favorite soap. I moved away for a year and in that time I lost my grandmother. I came back home, met my future husband, got married, and began watching my “stories”. At that time, I watched “Days of Our Lives”, and then switched it over to ATWT. They were both 30 minute shows, so I could watch both of them. “Days”, moved to an hour long show. Ah-oh… What to do? Well, I watched half an hour of “Days”, then I could watch ATWT… Ah-oh, ATWT went to an hour. To make a long story short, In memory of my grandmother I stuck with ATWT. Oh, how I loved my soap family. I went through everything with them. I cried with them and laughed with them. I hated with them, and loved with them. In 2010, my show, ATWT was cancelled. I was crushed. Oh, how I prayed they could save it, but no such luck. I knew then they were either going to put in a talk show, a doctor show, a game show, or a reality show. Talk show won out. I watched “The Talk” once, hated it. Nothing can replace my ATWT. To this day I watch only one CBS television show, “Person of Interest.” That’s because I am a big Jim Cavizel fan. That’s all CBS will ever get from me.

Soap operas started in 1937, on the radio with “The Guiding Light”. In 1954, “As the World Turns” made its debut on television.
Time magazine described American daytime television as “TV’s richest market”. Prime time shows lost money where as daytime serials earned profits several times more than their production costs.
This was at a time where more women stayed in the home to raise their family. They became a part of their story characters family and became emotionally involved in their lives.

In 1984, “The Edge of Night” became the first soap to be cancelled. Several followed in their foot steps, some never lasted a year. In 2010, ATWT was cancelled after 52 years on the air. “All my Children” and “One Life to Live” followed in 2011 and 2012. Both series had 40 years under their belts. Between the years of 1990 and 1991, there were 12 soaps on the air. Today, for the first time in soap history, there are only 4 remaining. Soap opera magazines have decreased their circulations or have gone out of business. More women are in the work fields and not at home. I don’t see why this would matter. A lot of women I know, who worked, would still record their stories.

Here’s what I figured out. Are soap operas on their way out? Is your soap safe? I say, no soap is safe today. You could hear at any given time of the last four soaps to be cancelled. Why? Because talk shows and game shows cost 50% less to produce than scripted dramas. More people are working and more people like reality shows.

There may be hope. Prospect Park announced it is reviving “All My Children” and “One Life to Live” on a web site known as, “The Online Network”. BUT…..Unless they add “As The World” to that….. They can count me out….

Kandy Barnes/Writer
TACD News

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Are Soap Operas Going Extinct?​​​​​

  1. I was just searching for this information for some time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this type of informative websites in top of the list. Normally the top sites are full of garbage.

    Posted by Martin Ogles | January 31, 2013, 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

