//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Stars We Said Goodbye to in 2012

Last week I wrote what I thought to be the big scandals of 2012.  This week I am writing about the stars we lost in 2012.  I only picked the ones I grew up watching over the years as a lot of them I had never heard of. So if I omitted some of your favorites, then I am sorry. We lost several entertainers last year. So, let the list begin……. (They are not in order of death)….

Jack Klugman, 90…12/24/12…Best known for his roles in “The Odd Couple” and one of my favorite old shows, “Quincy”.

Larry Hagman, 83…11/23/12…He started out as the sexy star in “I Dream of Jennie”, and later as the evil J.R. Ewing of “Dallas”.

Andy Williams, 84…09/26/12… I loved Andy.  He was so handsome and boy could he sing. I grew up watching his show which featured his French wife, their kids, and the Osmond’s. Best known for his singing, “Moon River” was one of my favorites.  He also owned the Moon River Theater in Branson Missouri. Even though I live an hour away from Branson, I sadly never got to go watch Andy in person.  I always wanted to see his Christmas show.

Michael Clarke Duncan, 54…09/3/12…Michael was best known for his role in “The Green Mile”.  I don’t know of anyone who didn’t see this movie and was amazed by the huge man.  Reading of his death, not one person had a bad thing to say about this giant of a man.  I think had he lived, he had a great acting life ahead of him.

Phyllis Diller, 95…08/20/12… Oh Miss Diller, how you made us laugh. With her bleached blonde hair, cigarette holder, gloves, and especially that laugh of hers.  I saw her in a lot of television shows and I mostly remember her talking about her husband Fang. She was one funny lady.

Albert Freeman, 78…08/09/12…He was best known for his role in Spike Lee’s film “Malcolm X”.

Sherman Hensley, 74…07/24/12… What a character Sherman played as the neighbor of Archie Bunker, George Jefferson.  George Jefferson and his wife got a spin off show from Archie Bunker and it was very successful.  No one could have played the part of George Jefferson better than Sherman Hensley.

Chad Everett, 75…07/24/12… Oh he was so handsome in the television show “Medical Center”. He later went on to a role in “Melrose Place”. The last show I saw him in was “Supernatural”.  He played Dean Winchester who was aged by a warlock.  He was excellent and funny in this part with all his old man aches and pains, which was a great role for him.

Ernest Borgnine, 95…07/08/12… Oh how I loved this man.  What a great actor he was and will be missed.  He played villains in a lot of western movies I saw as a kid. In 1955 he won the Oscar for his role in “Marty”, a story of an older, lonely man looking for love. He also did the voice of Mermaid Man in the children’s television cartoon “SpongeBob Squarepants”.

Andy Griffith, 86…07/03/12… Good old Andy.  Every town needs a sheriff like Andy Taylor. He also did a good job as Ben Matlock.  I watched Andy Griffith for years.  He’s another actor who will be missed.

Donna Summer, 63…05/17/12… No one can forget the sexy disco diva. She was as beautiful as she was talented.

Mike Wallace, 93…04/07/12… Best known for his long rated show “60 Minutes”

Davy Jones, 66…02/29/12… Sexy singer of the “Monkees”, and also starred in that same show.

Whitney Houston, 48…02/11/12…Beautiful singer, winner of 6 Grammy’s.

Last but not least, everyone’s favorite, every one of all ages knows this man, Dick Clark, 82…04/18/12… The ever youthful Mr. Clark.   Mr. Clark was the host of “American Bandstand” forever.  No one could take his place.  He also did the “$25,000 Pyramid”.  I thought Mr. Clark would live forever but, No one lives forever.

These are some of the ones I remember.  As I said there were around 27 entertainer deaths for 2012.   They will go on living on the screen and in their songs.
As the saying goes, “Gone but not forgotten”…..

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

