//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Fair-well to a Jolly Season or Winter Cleaning​​​

As January second rolled around last week I had to return to the six o’clock mornings. My alarm screamed at me and I felt like Eminem’s lyrics were right in my ears telling me to wake up. My back nearly snapped backwards and I’m sure I looked like one of the creepy girls from the ring. My hair was matted to my face from morning drool and my pajama bottoms were nearly twisted all the way to the side. Every part of my body was begging me to stay home but all my heart and my thirsty brain were begging me to go.
It’s time to get back into the swing of things. I know many of us are still stuck in the holiday season but it’s time to get back to the real world.
The other day, I went over to a friend’s house who was still stuck in the jolly season and I think I helped/forced the family to clean for like an hour before their mom got home.
Here are some things to put away:
1)      Throw away the damn gingerbread house. (I’m sure it’ll be fine in gingerbread heaven.)
2)      Get rid of the old planner. (You really don’t need it that much.)
3)      Put away the tree. (For heaven’s sake aren’t you tired of the pets knocking off an ornament every five seconds?)
4)      The stockings don’t need to be hung up for the remainder of the winter. (I’m sure your sisters, brothers and/or kids understand that Santa isn’t coming around for a whole year.)

The only decorative Christmas item exception is the Christmas lights buried in snow.. Otherwise think of this time as a fresh start at a New Year, because quite frankly that is exactly what it is. Start the year off clean and worry free. Christmas is known to cause stress so why keep it around reminiscing in it? There will always be next year.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

