//
you're reading...
The Monday Morning Mocha

Santa’s Lunch Sack for the Homeless​​​​​

During the holiday season, it is important to take time to reflect on the possessions we have, the family that makes us smile, the fact that we even have a job and a roof over our heads.  In 2009 I found that, although I had a roof over my head, and a job, I was lacking the most important ingredient for a Merry Christmas, family.  My mother and grandmother always made sure I had memorable holidays.   My mother and grandmother passed away in 2007, my wife divorced me in 2009, my son had left to his mother’s house for the Christmas holiday in 2009.  For the first time in my life, I woke up all alone on Christmas morning.  I sat in bed and contemplated laying there and crying all day, but that didn’t sound like much fun, so I got up, got dressed and headed to my restaurant.  I owned a coffee and deli at the time.  I made 40 sandwiches, placed them in 40 bags, with cookies, candy, brownies, rice krispy treats, and whatever else I could get my hands on.  I then loaded the bags into a few coolers with ice packs, and headed to Old Sacramento.  I pulled around my cooler on wheels and fed homeless people on the streets for a few hours, it was the best Christmas I had had in years.  Last year’s was our 3rd year, we have added some more volunteers, and a lot more sandwiches.  Last year we bagged 480 lunches, this year we are shooting for 1,000.
If there is any of you out there who thinks this sounds like a great way to spend your holiday, you can put together your own chapter of Santa’s Lunch Sack for yourself.  All you need is a commercial kitchen to prepare the food in, and ice chests with ice packs to transport.  I would love to see this spread nationwide.  Happy Holidays, to you and yours.

Discussion

One thought on “Santa’s Lunch Sack for the Homeless​​​​​

  1. Awesome! I don’t have a commercial kitchen but with donations I made 150 sack lunches and with lots of help delivered them along with 61 sleeping bags and a couple hundred hats, scarves, and gloves to Sacramento area homeless.

    Posted by Hillary Moyle | February 23, 2013, 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

