//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Hollywood Tramp

Actors Who Turned Down Major Roles​​

I am a movie buff.  I don’t go see them in theaters but I do rent videos or buy them. Some movies have sequels to them.  If you have seen the sequels to a great movie then you are probably like me, you want to see the same cast in sequels.  I was recently reading an article to see what actors were offered now famous roles, but turned them down, thought this might interest some….

Han solo.  I cannot imagine anyone playing the role of Hans Solo except for Harrison Ford. Some actors offered this role, but turned it down, was Al Pacino, Kurt Russell and even Burt Reynolds.  Remember people, this was in the 70″s.  I can actually see Kurt Russell playing the role if Harrison Ford hadn’t gotten it. I cannot even begin to see Burt Reynolds playing this role.   Funny thing about Harrison Ford is, he was a carpenter who was hired by George Lucas to build some cabinets.  When actors came to read for the parts of the movie, Mr. Lucas had Harrison Ford read opposite them… Guess he was really good at it and was offered the role. Excellent choice.

Matrix…..Will Smith was offered this role but turned it down.  I think he would have done a great job. Will Smith stated, “I just don’t see myself in that role. I watched Keanu’s performance and as I rarely say, I would have messed it up”.  I doubt that Mr. Smith.  Keanu Reeves was a grateful second choice for it revived his career and became his trademark role.  Another great choice I think.

James Bond… Cary Grant was originally offered the role of James bond but turned it down.  Sean Connery was offered the role and played Bond in 7 films.  As we know there have been many actors who have since played James Bond.

This isn’t a movie but I read who was offered the role on Seinfeld to play Elaine.  Can you believe Rosie O’Donnel?  I don’t think the show would have been as popular if she had played the role.  I was certainly happy with the choice of Julia Louise Dreyfus. I can’t think of another actress who could have made Elaine come to life like she did.

This is just a few of the movies I read on.  I’m sure there are a lot more.  I am happy for the actors to continue to play the character they made famous.   To me, it’s just not the same to start a famous role with another actor.  It’s almost like the old character died.    If I made a role famous, I would definitely stick with that role till the end. That’s how appreciative I would be.  Don’t bite that hand that feeds you.

About kandybarnes

I am married, mother of 4 grown children and proud grandmother of 8. I believe in God and all he stands for. I was raised in church and raised my kids in church. I am a homemaker. I have worked out of the home before but now I do what I like to do which is read, James Patterson is my favorite author, as is Sandra Brown, and Heather Graham. I love mysteries and Im also a big paranormal fan. Anything on the paranormal I watch or read about. I especailly love to spend time with my grandkids. they definetly make me feel young.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

