//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My Rant

Ok here we go people, I know I am going to not make friends on this one and I don’t really care. I have spent the majority of my life being the polite girl everyone expected me to be. I was raised to smile and say thank you like most of you. I have learned to be a chameleon and blend where need be to get along with everyone. I never spoke out and shared my thoughts on things mostly because I was afraid of displeasing someone. I was never that girl who just had the attitude of accept me for me even though I had wished I was stronger like that. It literally has taken me 40 years to finally reach a point in my life where I have come into my own. After losing my mom last year I was left alone with no family in the area. I walked away from a marriage months later, hence my entire life changed. I started taking a yoga teacher training class where I rediscovered that I was worth something, that I was loved by something greater in the universe and to be ok with me. I learned to let go of my mistakes and to embrace a future of bright beginnings. I  learned to trust my intuition and studied the Gita and re-read all the spiritual teachings in Pagan beliefs my mother had taught me growing up. Throughout this journey I have found a love for independence, self-expression and peace. Over the past year I had a book published and began writing for a local Magazine in the Northern California area. I have found my voice and learned where my political feelings directed me landing an opportunity to write for The American Complaint Dept. Through writing my book and reading about many spiritual religions and teaching multiple workshops on Theology over the last few years. I have somehow found myself as an advocate for those who cannot speak, writing about the outrage of young girls in Africa and other countries. I have written about acceptance in all areas of humanity whether it is in human rights or religion. I truly believe that we should all be what feel right to us as long as we honor the human beings we come in contact with insuring that we leave them in a better place with your intentions. To make sure that you have their best interest in mind and believe firmly that what you put out comes back to you three fold. If all of us followed those simple, common knowledge ways our society would be entirely different. I have even made it a point to be opened minded to all religions and what makes them beautiful to each person. I have recently tried to open my mind to Christianity which I find has been the most difficult for me. I do not judge nor is it my place to. Only a higher power is left for that in the end. But when I saw this on the internet I almost lost my mind!!!! Just a little FYI, that girl I told you about at the beginning of the story has grown up to a more opinionated woman whom now is not so worried about pleasing all of you and caring what you think about me. You can never please everyone and I had to learn that the hard way so here it goes, what the hell is this????

 

“Women should remain silent in the churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission, as the Law says. If they want to inquire about something, they should ask their own husbands at home; for it is disgraceful for a woman to speak in the church.”
— I Corinthians 14:34-35 (NIV)

 

15 “Have you allowed all the women to live?” he asked them. 16 “They were the ones who followed Balaam’s advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the Lord in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the Lord’s people. 17 Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18 but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. –Numbers 31
This is exactly why I don’t go to church, this is why I don’t relate to the bible and this is exactly why I am a Wiccan. You may tell me that there is so much more to the bible than a quote like this but it’s still in there! It’s like saying that all the times you tell your partner you love them over and over and then one time you slip out some nasty words and a few insults and they are supposed to ignore that one comment and know that everything else they say to you they mean…I am not going to pretend for one moment that this is even remotely ok in any capacity. I know that we are raised different and taught different but this is not equality and this is certainly not what I would want for my daughter. This mentality is exactly why there are women all over the world who are still beaten, slaughtered, abused and mutilated. Not because of this quote but because of this mentality that a woman is still to obey or submit to a man! Until this idea of an obedient woman is wiped off the planet we will never be at peace because there are a lot of us women who will not submit to this way of control. It is the old way of doing things and it doesn’t work. That’s my not so silent thoughts.

About elizabethcheryl

Published Author of The Summerland Novel Series

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

