//
you're reading...
Arts/Entertainment, The Film Vault, The Hollywood Tramp, The Movie Corner

Lights, Camera, Action!

The Sacramento International Film Festival (SIFF) is less than two weeks away. If you reside in the area you should definitely come and check out the show.  This year festival highlights will include the screening of Model Minority by Japanese – American filmmaker, and 13 year E.R. cast member, Lily Mariye. Lily and Oscar winning actor Chris Tashima are attending the festival and will be available for meet and greets and interviews during the Cine Asia event on Sunday, April 28 at the Delta King in Old Sacramento.

The SIFF screening will be the NorCal premiere for Model Minority. Lily is super excited to be coming to town and looks forward to connecting with the multitude of family members that she has in this area. Model Minority is gaining traction on the film festival circuit and has already been recognized for several awards.  Currently she is trying to secure distribution for her film but says that, “it’s kind of like dating, the distributors she wants don’t want her and the ones that want her, she doesn’t want.” Man, sounds just like dating. Hang in there Lily, I’m sure prince charming is somewhere waiting. http://www.californiafilm.net/events/cine-asia-2013

The feature length documentary American Courtesans is also part of the 8-day day festival lineup. The provocative film has been generating a bit of buzz for its honest portrayal of the world’s oldest profession.  Native Sacramentan, James Johnson, directed the film and will be in attendance, along with a slew of stars.  Cast member Hilary Holiday was arrested for prostitution just prior to the film’s festival run, so she might not make it, but there will be plenty of other interview opportunities available.

American Courtesans has received much critical acclaim and has been officially selected at a variety of film festivals. American Courtesans will screen at the Sacramento International Film Festival on Monday, April 22 at the historic Delta King in Old Sacramento.

Personally I can’t wait to see 48 Hours Sacramento. You’ve got to give our local filmmaker some love. They had a 48 hour timeline to get their assignments, complete a 7 minute max film, and submit it. In total, nineteen were submitted. Filmmakers were so tired when dropping off their completed films at Studio Center on Fee Dr. Sunday night.

The running theme for 48 Hours Sacramento this year is Zombies and Steampunks with titles like Mr. Zombie, an entry from Sharon, owner of Carol’s Books on Del Paso. Sharon’s theme was, let’s say complex.  You’ll have to come out and see it to know what I mean. Martin Glover makes an appearance in Mr. Zombie and the sibling resemblance is unmistakable. If you don’t believe me, come see for yourself.

The Role of the POTUS Ball” by Vince Dee Miles was shot on a Red Epic camera. Google it.

No, I jest, here’s a little email interview with the creator himself:

“The 48 Hour Film Challenge experience this year (2013) was the best ever for me in the five or six years that I’ve participated.

You probably want to know why?

Well, if there is anything I can tell anyone who wants to do this challenge is to do all the necessary prep work. This means, assemble your cast, crew, equipment and location. Have an idea of what your key elements are before you write your screenplay.

I knew going into it that my story was going to focus on my two lead actors Vada Russell and Marcas de Leon. That saved me an incredible amount of time. I used only one location, which also made it very easy for everyone.

So, here’s the criteria for my film. The Genre was “Invaders from space.” The one-liner used in all of the 48 Hours films, listen for it, was, “Toto….we’re no longer in Kansas.” The prop used was the “Rube Goldberg Device/Machine.” (WTF? I guess we’ll see on April 20).

“Lew Osteen, an award winning screenwriter wrote the first draft of my script. Mark Hoffman and myself wrote the second draft.

Now, having a professional DP/Cinematographer (Jeff McPhee) and his RED EPIC was a major blessing to say the least. I mean we’re talking about the same camera used to shoot “The Hobbit.”

Jeff has other cameras, but I had no idea he would bring out the “big gun.” I honestly did not think we would be able to use it because my editor did not think he could work from such a “beast,” but thank the good Lord he was able and willing to take the “beast” by the horns and make a good short film.

Of course having all the best equipment in the world means nothing if you don’t have a good story and good people to tell it.

Well, my cast and crew delivered and they delivered well. I hope you enjoy watching “The Role of the POTUS Ball” a film by Vincent Dee Miles on Saturday April 20th at the Crocker Art Museum”.

I’m done talking about SIFF. I done told you what’s up so if you miss out, it ain’t my fault.  Seating is limited so get your tickets now. I know I’ll be there! See you at the show!

http://www.californiafilm.net/page/sff-festival-guide-2013

About kimmims

I'm born and raised in Sac Town which is why I'm enthusiastic about highlighting the diverse River City region. I write about what I'm passionate about, and right now that's Sacramento's film and fashion scenes. I created Phantom Fashion as an outlet of expression for these burgeoning industries in California's capital city. http://phantomfashionblogger.blogspot.com/

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Lights, Camera, Action!

  1. It’s great that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our
    dialogue made at this time.

    Posted by Poppy | October 18, 2013, 5:33 am
  2. Тhis is a topiϲ which іs сlose to my heart… Thank you!

    Exactly where are your ϲoոtact details thߋugh?

    Posted by Leticia | April 23, 2014, 6:06 am
  3. If the prices are very high or low then it will help you to understand that there may be unscrupulous activities involved with the site.

    The evident reason is the same that is the huge number of users and viewers.
    If the site looks simple then it might be a fraud but if its bit decorated then it
    is likely to be genuine one.

    Posted by safe.mn | July 18, 2014, 10:15 am

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to The American Complaint Department and receive notifications of new articles by email.

The American Citizen's Daily

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

Well played, sir...is now The Evolution of Reason!

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."

The Summerland Novel, Writings and Revelations

"It's our differences, and our freedom to voice them, that make us Americans."